Luca (The College Collection Set 1 – for reluctant readers)

By: Georgina Jonas


Or purchase digital products from our partners:


Products specifications
Attribute name Attribute value
Size: 167 x 118mm
Pages : 64
ISBN : 9781785831034
Format: Paperback
Published: August 2016

Luca has a secret which means he needs to change his name. Will he come clean?

The College Collection centres around five main characters, Luca, Anda, Jim Jam, Woody and Nolan. They are from different backgrounds and first meet at Parkfield College, where they are studying for a BTEC in Media Studies. They quickly become friends. The College Collection follows them through their time at Parkfield College and the adventures and adversities they experience there. Above all they work hard, have fun and their friendship shines through. The subliminal messages of overcoming failure, of acceptance and support run through all the texts, alongside messages of resilience and perseverance.

In each of the first five books in this set we meet a different character, and learn about their personalities, backgrounds and what they did before they arrived at Parkfield College. In Art Attack, they are thrown into a project together, which takes them on a surprising and challenging adventure.

This first set of six books in the reading scheme, The College Collection, is designed to support and extend the acquisition of reading skills, and the enjoyment of reading, through exciting stories and relatable characters.

The books reinforce high frequency words and the core phonic skills needed to access basic reading levels. Each set provides stories which bridge the gap between base level schemes and longer, more challenging texts. They are suitable for readers who still need a formatted reading scheme and are not yet ready to go onto free readers, but who still want interesting, engaging, real-life books. They are flexible, so no matter what other schemes you may be using, these books stand alone, enhancing and extending any reading experience.

The books provide developing readers with age-appropriate material designed to boost competence and confidence, engaging the reader and encouraging reading for pleasure. The books are also useful for reluctant readers or where the acquisition of reading skills has been identified as a problem. They have been specifically designed to consolidate young readers’ skills and to improve the confidence of older readers who are still acquiring and developing reading skills.

Reading age 9–13 years, interest age 11+. Teacher notes to assist with the use of these books in the classroom are available here.

Picture for author Georgina Jonas

Georgina Jonas

Georgina Jonas - the pen name for the collective talent and expertise of one full-time teacher, who has also been a children's storyteller, and one former headmistress who currently tutors and leads workshops to show parents the best way to help their children with maths and English.

Click here to read the author's article for SecEd in which she offers guidance for engaging reluctant readers.


  1. Luca is the fourth book in the College Collection series. It's about a boy called Luca with a secret that means having to change his name.

    I enjoyed the book because it was easy to read: the font was nice and clear and the chapters were of a good length. The bits I didn't enjoy were when it wasn't exactly about what the blurb said it would be about. I enjoyed the bits about Luca's childhood and the embarrassing things that had happened to him.

    Overall, though, the book was great and really interesting to read. I would recommend this book to younger children who are maybe between nine and twelve years old. If I had to rate Luca I would probably give it four stars out of five!

Write your own review